Our Homeschool Adventure Blog

Chronicling our adventures as a small homeschool family with mom and dad both as teachers

Given an Opportunity to Share on Psychology Today’s Website

As I’m sure you can imagine, the “family” of those who have prosopagnosia is a pretty small one, and it does not take long to get to know others, virtually at least, from around the country who have been impacted by this probably-not-so-rare-but-hardly-ever-diagnosed disorder. Glenn Alperin is one member of this family. Glenn is an adult, around my age, who lives with prosopagnosia. He received a head injury at 16 months old, and it is believed that this is what caused his case of face blindness. Glenn is quite outspoken about his prosopagnosia and has had many opportunities throughout the years to share about his experiences of living with this. He does this, he says, to advocate for those who live with this disorder, and to educate others about it. With research showing that possibly up to 2% of the population has facial recognition difficulties to one degree or another, there are probably lots, like our family, who are being impacted by this disorder and who don’t even know it. And those impacts can be confusing, scary, and debilitating.

One way that Glenn shares about his experiences with prosopagnosia is through a blog on the Psychology Today website. His posts talk about day-to-day life and considerations for people who move through the world not being able to reliably recognize others, even those closest to them. I found Glenn’s blog not too long ago and have greatly enjoyed reading the posts included. Even though Glenn is an adult, I could see many parallels between his experiences and NDEW’s experiences with prosopagnosia. After reading through the posts, I sent Glenn an email, letting him know how much I appreciated his willingness to share and that his blog had given me some great insights into what NDEW experiences. I explained that we had a son who had recently been diagnosed with prosopagnosia and thanked him for all he’s done to educate the public about the disorder. (In addition to his blog, Glenn has consulted on several books and films and has been interviewed for TV about having prosopagnosia.)

Glenn emailed me back and asked me if I might like to write a post as a guest on his blog and share about our journey to this point with NDEW. I was more than willing to. If, by sharing, I can encourage another family to keep searching for the right answers for their child, then I am more than willing to. I am very grateful to Glenn for giving me this opportunity and I feel honored that he asked me to. I’m the first guest blogger he’s ever had. You can read the article by clicking on the link below. In the article our son is referred to as Mark. Glenn and I decided that it was best if we did not use NDEW’s real name since this was a website with such a large, international audience. Readers of this blog know our son as NDEW, and those who know us personally know him by his real name. Trust me, it’s the same kid!

Thanks for taking the time to read the post of Glenn’s blog on PsychologyToday.com I am very thankful to have been given the opportunity to share.

http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/face/201305/outsiders-looking-in-familys-journey-prosopagnosia

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Given an Opportunity to Share on Psychology Today’s Website

  1. It was truly a delight to be able to work with you, Whitney. I am very glad you contacted me. I hope NDEW appreciates the effort also. Please let him know that people like me spend a fair bit of time thinking about people like him. I was his age once, and although my family’s path was a bit different given my circumstances, and some of my challenges were also a little different, I am sure I share much in common with NDEW. Most of all, it is nice to know we are not alone, something I knew all along, but until the internet came along, I had no way to reach out to others. I am glad that you and NDEW are one step ahead of where I was at his age.

    • wsquared77 on said:

      It was a delight to work with you as well, Glenn! Thank you again for the opportunity. We feel very lucky to have found the answers we have and very thankful to people like you who have paved the way and act as mentors to our child in his experiences of living with prosopagnosia!

  2. I had the great fortune of finding Mr. Alperin’s blog quite some time ago. I am glad you two were able to connect. The “family” created by prosopagnosia is definitely growing with shared information.

    Now, I am off to read your guest post. Thank you for helping others learn as you continue on this journey.

Leave a Reply

